A Day in the Life of a College Vegan

 

I go to a pretty big university in Maryland. I live in an apartment-style dorm and I am not on any meal plan. I hypothesize that the structure of a university considerably affects the kinds of food and exercise that are available and used by students. I have here two programs/apps that record what I eat and what I burn daily.

Dinner and Exercise

Dinner and Exercise

Breakfast

Breakfast

Lunch

Lunch

 

So this is a somewhat typical day, leaning more towards vegan than usual. All of these products are bought from my local organic market, not my university. My university offers a very very limited variety of organic food, and even less vegan food. Organic and vegan seem to be more expensive and less popular than typical diner food such as fried chicken, wraps, and frozen dinners. I’m fortunate enough to have the funds to afford the more expensive organic vegan options in the organic market, and I really respect those who find ways to be vegan and organic on a limited budget. This app is called MyFitnessPal.

 

Activity Manager

Activity Manager

Sleep Manager

Sleep Manager

This is what a typical day, assuming I’m on a weekly gym routine, in terms of calorie expenditure looks like. The great thing about living at a large university is that walking is a requirement to get to class, and so you get cardio without even really trying. My university also has an amazing gym that has literally every machine you could think of. I also have respect for college students who do not have access to a good gym. This program is called BodyMedia. What I have to do is wear a band with a small plastic tracker on my arm called a BodyBugg for the whole day; this tracker uses my temperature and heart rate to estimate how many calories I burn. You’ll notice that the data on this program is different from the data from MyFitnessPal. Oddly enough, MyFitnessPal is very good with tracking food but very bad at estimating calories burned, while BodyMedia is the opposite. The BodyBugg was relatively expensive, but I really suggest giving MyFitnessPal a try if you need structure like I do.

What does your university offer? What do you do to keep track? Do you keep track at all?

 

4 Comments on “A Day in the Life of a College Vegan”

  1. aapril9077 says:

    I don’t put a great deal of effort into tracking my diet or workouts, but my friend recently got the Jawbone and says it’s amazing. It is definitely on the more expensive side, but it tracks your sleep, steps, workouts, and diet. I think it even gives you health tips based on the food you enter. I read a little bit about cheaper alternatives and found a lot, but they aren’t nearly as thorough and awesome as the Jawbone: http://www.pocket-lint.com/news/123074-nike-fuelband-jawbone-up-fitbit-flex-misfit-shine-bowflex-boost-which-sports-band-to-choose

  2. Universities are in the hot seat and they’re not exploiting their position. They cater to students who could make arrangements that would accommodate healthy eating, but by not stressing the importance of it, students allocate more $ in their bar fund than their health fund. It’s unsettling, to say the least.

  3. […] Edit: if you’re looking for good apps to use to track your diet, check out Unwilling Vegan’s post entitled “A Day in the Life of a College Vegan.” […]


Leave a Reply

