How To Be Vegan On Vacation

I don’t know. I just don’t know.

Spring break just passed in the blink of an eye, and what do I have to show for it? Gluttony? Failure? A bit more junk in the trunk? Tan lines?

Yes, all of those. I went to Fort Lauderdale, Florida for a week to enjoy the clear water, spacious beaches, and phenomenally good weather. What I purposefully avoided was the assessment of my diet. I didn’t want to think about the organic-ness or vegan-ness of my food, I was on vacation. And you know what you do on your vacation? Eat whatever the hell you want. As if my body knew it was on vacation and wouldn’t register the junk food as actual junk. I stayed in a room with no kitchen in it (much like most hotel rooms don’t), so I was solely dependent on prepared foods.

I didn’t have breakfast most days. I may have eaten 1/3 of the Mega Stuffed Oreos box. I had more fries in one week than I have in the last 2 years. I made bad decisions regarding my health. I didn’t care. And what did my body do as a response? I imagine that if my body could speak for itself, it would say something like this.

“Oh, you think you could get away with that? Oh, you BETTER not be thinkin’ you can treat me like that. Alright. I see how it is. Well, you asked for it. I’m gonna let you ride out this week with your fried pickles and your caramel ice cream topped with caramel sauce (you really need caramel TWICE?). But you’re gonna get a rude awakening when you get home. It is going to suuuuuuuck.”

I hear this in a voice that could come from a dramatic yet sassy teenage girl who caught her “boyfriend” talking to another girl and plans on being overly vindictive. Please read it that way.

My face broke out in ways that made me ashamed to wake up without makeup. I got such a splitting headache on the plane ride home that I was convinced I was going to vomit out of the window. I even woke up the next day with headache remnants. I needed coffee this afternoon to give me enough energy to write a paragraph.

Just goes to show you, there are always consequences. Even on vacation. So here I am, nursing my body back to health with coconut oil, kale shakes, and vegan mushroom ravioli.

The ravioli was gross. Vegan dough tastes like play dough. Actually, it tastes worse; play dough is at least a bit salty. Now I’m salty because I bought a package of yucky ravioli that I will feel guilty about if I don’t finish. #lingo

 

6 Comments on “How To Be Vegan On Vacation”

  1. jnkron says:

    I sympathize. I was eating clean until break happened.. I also went through a sleeve of Oreos.

    • mzelenski says:

      I think people who conserve their Oreos aren’t doing it right. You bought Oreos? You just signed a contract that you will eat most of it almost immediately. This thought process lets me avoid responsibility and guilt.

  2. I was in Ft. Lauderdale too!! And actually my mom, who is adhering to the MediFast diet at home (mostly prepared shakes, plainly cooked protein sources, and vegetables), endured similar fate on our vacation. Though her diet is very different than yours, any quick and extreme dietary change will leave a body quite confused… Temporarily… I’m sure you, and my mom, are not alone and your confessions via “sassy teenage girl” are brave and SO real… I’m going to show my sassy-mom your post and I wish you the best. You’ll be back to full vegan power in no time! Hang in there girl!!

  3. marriedmango says:

    For the month of October, I decided I wanted to be on a vegetarian grind, mainly for weight loss. It was tragic so I relate to your struggle. I lasted the month, but those cravings and indefinite feelings of hunger at first were strong. I eventually settled into some sort of limbo where I was okay with the amount I ate, but I found (more unhealthy and fattening) alternatives to fill the gap. Anyway, you should be thrilled to not be on vacay anymore because I know it has got to be easier to eat well here than it is on vacation. (Side note: Ovo simply veggie is a great place in CP for vegan noms, you should check it out of review it or…something.)

    • mzelenski says:

      I went over to Ovo this week and was super confused by the format of the menu. I just tried the tea, which was supposedly straight from India. It was awesome and organic, so I expect to have future visits that result in actual meals.


Leave a Reply

