Experimenting with Powders, Tinctures, and Pills

To start off, there are absolutely no illegal drugs mentioned anywhere in this article. The title is a fun play on words. Fun. For laughs. Just that.

IMG_0982

This has become my morning routine for the past week. On the far left is my morning smoothie. It contains kale, blueberries, blackberries, raspberries, carrot juice, cherry juice, chia seeds, goji powder, maca powder, and water. In the middle back is a jar of organic unrefined coconut oil. In the front is a cilantro tincture. On the right is an herbal tea with silica powder. Not shown are my biotin and Chlorella supplements.

The kale smoothie just makes sense to me. Kale is really good for you but smells like dead dog, so the berries and fruit juices cover it up with tartness and antioxidants. Chia seeds and goji powder are tasteless and are there because they’re packed with fiber, protein, and vitamin A. Maca powder is the most disgusting thing I’ve ever tasted and is used very sparingly. It’s good for “energy and balance”, as the product container says, but honestly, I only take it because Miranda Kerr takes it. She’s perfect, so she’s probably right about everything.

The coconut oil is a new thing that I’m trying. I’ve recently heard of “oil pulling“, which is when you swish liquid coconut oil in your mouth for 20 minutes to draw out the toxins in your mouth and on your teeth. It’s a very icky feeling, but I’ll try anything once.

The cilantro tincture is supposed to work with the Chlorella to draw out heavy metals from my body and flush them out through bowel movements. It was suggested to me by a friend. I’m not even aware of what heavy metals do in your body, so I’ll save that for a future post. Again, I’ll try anything once.

The herbal tea is not even really tea; there are no actual tea leaves in herbal tea. I simply like the taste better than real caffeinated tea; also I’m trying to lower my caffeine intake from 20 mg to 0. I have a theory that if I eat very well and exercise, I won’t need extra outside energy to get me through the day. Yes, I aspire to be Chris Traeger.

The tea has powdered silica supplement in it. According to my mother, silica helps digestion and acts as a detoxifying agent. It has almost an unbearable chalky taste to it, which is barely covered up by the tea. I think it made my nails stronger.

I don’t have to explain myself this time, right? I just do these things. These supplements are sold and marketed to be indisputable good for you. If you google “silica supplement good“, you’ll find it. If you google “silica supplement bad“, you’ll find it. I’m not sure who to trust. For now, I can only trust my body’s reaction to them. Oh, the trials and tribulations of a newly-healthy-minded person.

6 Comments on “Experimenting with Powders, Tinctures, and Pills”

  1. Brittany W says:

    Oil pulling is really strange, and it often made me want to gag. I found that I could oil pull with refined coconut oil much easier than unrefined.. Something about the way refined is processed that makes it easier to continuously swish in my mouth (without wanting to gag every few seconds). I began doing it because I have migraine headaches and fatigue, but I didn’t feel any of the benefits from it, though the concept itself makes sense. I’m interested in hearing how your experiences go.

    • Cilantro and chlorella are underrated

      • mzelenski says:

        I think that because using cilantro and chlorella is not an intuitive solution to extracting heavy metals, most people don’t even know about it. Being aware of heavy metals in your body and their effects on health doesn’t seem to be a “health fad” just yet.

    • mzelenski says:

      I’ve been doing it for about 2 weeks now. The only progress that I see so far is my ability to keep coconut oil in my mouth for more than 10 minutes. Not quite ready to give up on it yet, but I might just quit it it by the end of the month I don’t see any results. How long have you been doing it?

      P.S. I also have migraine headaches and fatigue; what else do you do to try and combat it?

      • Brittany W says:

        I did it for about a week and then a filling in my tooth cracked. I had to get it removed. I can’t say for sure that oil pulling is what caused my filling to crack, but it’s an odd coincidence that it cracked a week after I started doing it. I haven’t picked it back up.

        The migraines and fatigue are really debilitating. I feel like I can’t live a normal life. I have a few triggers that set off my migraines (perfume is #1 on the list — if I come in contact with someone who is wearing copious amounts of perfume, I get a migraine for DAYS), but there are certainly other causes that I can’t figure out — and excedrine is the only thing that takes them away.

        I also can’t figure out the fatigue, and it’s FRUSTRATING beyond belief. Some supplements that have helped me are l-theanine and l-glutamine. Over spring break, I cut some off my hair off for a DNA analysis. If the company actually helps, I’ll let you know.. It was a little pricey, but it may be totally worth it.

        The other day I discovered an earthing mat, but I don’t know if it’s legit. People say it helps with fatigue.

        Do you think you might have a micronutrient deficiency at all? I think that may be my problem.. or I might have adrenal fatigue. I’ve tried to science my way out of it, but so far success has been very little.

      • mzelenski says:

        Oh my god, we need to have a ranting session about migraines. If I smell peppers or sit inside of a hot leather-seated car, I basically have to scrap the rest of the day and try to stay alive. I can’t explain the pepper hate at all, but I often get migraines when I stress out just a little. Migraines have taken so many days out of my life that I now have to tip-toe around life and try not to get a headache.

        My fatigue always comes in the afternoon and is persistent regardless of sleep, nutrition of the day before, or even caffeine. I’ve actually fallen asleep on 5 hour energy and almost while driving. I figure that if I keep at the vegan thing long enough, it’ll go away because that’s what all vegans rave about, their newfound energy.

        I’ve had a full blood work panel done twice, and nothing on there suggested that I have a vitamin or mineral deficiency or that my organs weren’t working properly. I did some research and I ruled out high cholesterol as being a cause, but I can’t be totally sure. My doctor prescribed me painkillers that were completely ineffective. I’ve given up depending on the science for now and hoping the veganism will do something.
        I’m really curious to know what a hair sample will yield in data, that sounds really interesting!


Leave a Reply

